Le Minh Duc

On The Way

  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Usefull links

  • Interesting Photos

    Photonic Symphony

    Kuifmees / Crested Tit / Mésange huppée

    6922

    More Photos

P1 Toastmaster Speech 1

Posted by LE MINH DUC on November 9, 2005

Once upon a time there was a tavern
Where we used to raise a glass or two
Remember how we laughed away the hours
and dreamed of all the great things we would do

…..
Is there anyone who doesn’t know this famous song?

Whenever I listened to this song, it recalled the great time that I had with my High school Classmates

Good evening ladies and gentlemen, tonight it is my honor to share with you one of my memories about those unforgettable times.

Those remained the most joyful time in our lives when we were so naïve, so pure. We don’t need to worry about anything, just eat, sleep, study and play.

3 years has gently elapsed with nothing special. At the end of High school, instead of a sad farewell party, our head teacher decided to organize for us a tour to a famous sea. This trip turned out to be our most unforgettable scary memory.

Let me tell you what happened there. It was a balmy afternoon with gentle breeze and calm sea. 5 of us jumped into the sea and enjoyed the warm water and the playful waves.

Suddenly, a strong wave pushed all of us out far away from the seashore. We shouted for help and used all the strength to swim in. But it became useless when big waves keep come in and push us out again and again. It seemed nothing can defeat the power of the sea.
That was the first time in our lives we feel the cold breath of Death blowing behind our necks. No one dared to look back; all of us just keep swimming like mad toward the shore.
People on the coast noticed the emergency and call lifeguards for help. 10 minutes later, we saw the light at the end of the tuner. 3 life guards plunge into the water rushing to us.
However, the worst thing happened, one of my friends became unconscious. He had a weak heart and cannot withstand the cold and the lost of energy.
So, 2 lifeguards decided to split out to save him first, the other lifeguard stayed back with us. Since we were so scared, we could not think and analyze the situation. All the things that we knew was: 5 of us clung on to one lifeguard and could not move in. The hope came and went. We felt very disappointed and helpless. There was no use to stick together and do nothing.

Instinct for survival rose up, I decided to detach myself from the rest and swim follow 2 lifeguards. Their faces looked extremely stressful, because my friend was so heavy and waves were so tough. I tried to reach them and seek for help, but they pushed me out
“You’re Fool! Get away from me! Don’t touch me”
One lifeguard shouted at me, glacial and ruthless. It made me totally shocked. I felt dizzy and afraid. Looking into my friend’s face, I saw Death. His face were pale, his eyes were looking at me emotionlessly. A fear rose up and covers my mind.

I kept swimming and swimming, harder and stronger, my mind went empty. The distance from here to the shore was only 100 m, but it was like a thousand miles away….

Why it’s so silent! A scary silence covers a whole region!
It was strange! A minute ago, I still heard my friends behind kept shouting. Now I heard nothing! Were they drowning? Or Was I deaf?

At that moment, the only things I could see were the beautiful blue sky with no cloud, the seashore with white sand and many coconut-palms swinging in the wind.

At that moment, my parents’ image, my relatives and friends jump into my mind.

What if I died? How my parent can bare with this? Who will take care of them? How about my friends…?

Luckily, all of us escaped from this incident. I really didn’t know where I could found the strength to swim continuously in 30 minutes in such a bad situation. If my legs got cramp in the sea, I couldn’t be here and stand in front of you now!

After this incident, we are closer to each other. We are friends – who have spent time together in studying, playing, sleeping, and also fighting together against the Death. This incident will never be erased from our memories since it made us become brothers

Now, three years have passed, we say goodbye to each other, and choose our own way.
Then the busy years went rushing by us
we lost our starry notions on the wayif by chance I’d see you in the tavern
we’d smile at one another and we’d say

Those were the days my friend
We thought they’d never end
We’d sing and dance forever and a day
We’d live the life we choose
We’d fight and never lose
For we were young and sure to have our way.

Toastmaster of the evening!

Leave a Reply

 
